Grand Rapids Drunk Driving Attorney

When you are accused of OWI/DWI/DUI/OUID (“drunk driving”), you are facing serious charges with serious consequences.  Not only is it embarrassing and devastating, it can cost your job, reputation, and thousands of dollars in legal fees – leaving you with feelings of confusion, anger, and even fear about what is going to happen next.

At Simkins Law, we are dedicated to providing our Grand Rapids OWI/DUI clients with an aggressive drunk driving defense no matter the complexity of your OWI/DUI case.  All drunk driving cases are unique, and at Simkins Law we offer a free OWI/DUI case evaluation to help us better understand the complexity of your Grand Rapids drunk driving case.  Our drunken driving defense strategy is tailored to your specific needs while aiming for the absolute best possible results.

While the law is consistent throughout the state of Michigan, local courts often employ differing procedures in how they handle such cases, and it is important to have an attorney representing you who is familiar with these differences and able to use them to your advantage.

If you have been arrested and accused of drunk driving in the Greater Grand Rapids area, or if you have questions pertaining to your DUI charge, please contact Simkins Law Today for a free, no-obligation consultation.

Michigan Drunk Driving Fines & Penalties

1st Drunk Driving Conviction
• Jail – Up to 93 Days
• License Suspension – Eligible for Restricted License after 30 Days
• License Points – 6
• Fine – From $100 – $500
• Fine $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 Years
Other Possibilities
• Community Service – Up to 360 Hours
• Ignition Interlock
• Vehicle Immobilization

2nd Drunk Driving Conviction
• Jail – From 5 Days to 1 Year
• License Suspension – Minimum of 1 Year
• License Points – 6
• License Plate Confiscation
• Vehicle Immobilization – From 90 to 180 Days (Unless Vehicle is Forfeited)
• Fine – From $200 to $1,000
• Fine – $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 Years
• Ignition Interlock Device
Other Possibilities
Community Service – From 30 to 90 Days

3rd Michigan DUI Offense
• Felony Offense
• Jail – Probation With 30 Days to 1 Year
• Imprisonment– From 1 to 5 Years
• License Suspension – Minimum of 1 Year
• License Points – 6
• License Plate Confiscation
• Vehicle Immobilization – From 90 to 180 Days (Unless Vehicle is Forfeited)
• Ignition Interlock Device
• Fine – From $200 to $1,000
• Fine – $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 Years
Other Possibilities
Community Service – From 60 to 180 Days

For more detail information about Michigan Drunk Driving Sanctions, please visit our Michigan Drunk Driving Sanctions Page.